Review: Interloper by Barry Hoffman

This has been a difficult book for me to review, which is why it has taken me so long to review it.  There is no denying that this is a well written story,  that engages the reader. Yes it has two very well written strong protagonists, and yes the story has a good Ying and Yang premise.  Yet despite of of these plus points, the story itself just didn’t connect with me.  To be honest I feel the main reason for this was the fact that the reference’s to sex, and the sex in the story just seemed to get in the way of a good story.  I personally have never been a fan of having sex in horror stories, I’ve never seen the point.  To me they are just filler, used to bump up the word count, something you can’t do with a 40 page chapbook.

I liked the idea of the story,  and in the main I really liked the execution of it, I just think that if the author stayed focused and concentrated on concept of a human guardian angel and her polar opposite the story would have been far better.

Available to purchase from Splatterpunk 

Leave a Reply

