Interview: 5 Minutes With Jason L. McPherson


Today’s guest is Jason L. McPherson  Jason L. McPherson is a writer of Appalachian Thriller and Horror novels. He lives in the Blue Ridge Mountains of the Carolina’s with his wife and four children, all of which he absolutely adores. He is an avid outdoorsman and enjoys the culture and the many fascinating stories that abound the Appalachian region. His stories are born while gazing at the stars by a campfire, listening to the gurgling water of the Chattooga River, hunting in the wilds of the Pisgah National Forest and his many lone camping trips in the Appalachian Mountains he calls home. Back porch storytelling is a time-honored tradition in the Blue Ridge Mountains and he hopes to pass that tradition along to his readers…one horrifying story at a time. 

Could you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?


I am a writer of dark, gritty horror stories. I live in the Blue Ridge Mountains of the Carolina’s with my wife and our four children, yeah, four. No self-respecting hillbilly can have less than three kids. It’s kind of a rule here in the mountains. My first horror novel, The Gorge, was published earlier this year by Spore Press LLC.


Do you prefer the term Horror, Weird Fiction or Dark Fiction?

 I would prefer Horror, although The Gorge could easily be categorized as a supernatural thriller. It is a very dark, gritty and unique read either way.


Who are some of your favourite authors?

Louis L’Amour, Jack London, Stephen King, Robert McCammon, George R.R. Martin, Dean Koontz , James Dickey, Clive Barker and Ralph Cotton, to name a few.


What are you reading now?

I am currently reading Midnight Rider, an amazing western novel by Ralph Cotton.


 Which book do you wish you had written?

 I would have to say Deliverance, by James Dickey. The movie based on James Dickey’s novel was filmed on the Chattooga River, a place I grew up trout fishing and camping. It is a story I’ve always found fascinating and the first thing I read that made me want to write about my area, the Blue Ridge Mountains of southern Appalachia.

How would you describe your writing style?

Fast-paced from the opening sentence. I absolutely despise filler in a novel and avoid it like the plague. I try to write the type of stories I enjoy reading. Stories that grab you from page one, and keep you turning the pages late into the night.


Describe a typical day spent writing. Do you have any unusual writing habits?

A typical day for me can be anything from pounding out two thousand words to pecking out two hundred, it varies. I guess one unusual habit I have is that every detailed description of scenery is a something I have laid my eyes upon while out in the wilderness, camping, fishing or hunting. Every scene I describe is something I’ve taken in, filed away in my minds eye, while out in the mountains and I believe that is one of my best qualities.


What piece of your own work are you most proud of  ?

The Gorge is currently my only published work, but I am very proud of getting this thing published with a new and exciting publishing house. I have enjoyed their fresh approach and engaging ideas. Spore Press let me be myself and did not shy away from publishing a violent, gritty story as is The Gorge.


Can you tell us about your last book, and can you tell us about what you are working on next?

The Gorge is a horror story that takes place nearly entirely in the wilderness of the Pisgah National Forest of Western North Carolina. It is a multiple plot story with many twists and turns. With, The Gorge, I try to bring to life both the beauty and the isolation of the Blue Ridge Mountains, a vast and rugged terrain that few have experience. I wanted to expose the horrors that serenity can sometimes belly, and I believe I managed to do just that.  

I am currently writing another novel that will be published by Spore Press. It is a zombie story set literally in my backyard, a place called Glassy Mountain. I believe it is some of my best writing to date and I really look forward to seeing this thing on the shelves.





Leave a Reply

