Interview: William Meikle : 13 Ghosts of Christmas


Today is the turn of Ginger Nuts favourite William Meikle, a Scottish writer, now living in Canada. I first came across Willies work, in the now sadly closed Waterstones at the east end of Princess Street. The book in question was the excellent first book in his Watchers series, the book still sits proudly on my book shelf, despite having the author’s photo on the back cover chewed to bits by a hungry cat. 

Can you tell us little bit about yourself?
I’m Willie, Scottish, living in Canada, I’ll be 55 next year and in my 21st year of writing. The last year has been the best so far, with several hardcover books of my work appearing from Dark Regions Press and Darkfuse, alongside numerous professional short story sales.
Why did you decide to submit a story to this anthology?
Simon Marshall-Jones asked me to write a Xmas story last year for another publication, and I enjoyed that so much that when the anthology call went out, it seemed natural to try another.
Can you tell us what to expect from your story?
Mine harks back to Dickensian tales, with snowy London streets, boys carrying geese and revelers on the streets. Carnacki has a new case, a little old lady with a piece of jewelry that has a story to tell, and it won’t let go until the tale is told.
What was the best and the worst Christmas present you ever received?
Best would be the Mechano set I got when I was six. I played with that for years and loved building cars and spaceships. Worst was a vibrant lime green polo neck Arran jumper my Gran knitted which was umpteen sizes too big for me, and mum made me wear it until I grew into it… which was several years.
Who or what would you least like to be haunted by at Christmas?
My first wife. She’s not dead yet, but I get a cold chill up my spine every time I think about her.
Can you tell us about any future projects?
The next books up are a weird Sherlock Holmes collection in hardcover from Dark Regions. (The Yellow Peril and Other stories.), and a hardcover novella CLOCKWORK DOLLS from DARKFUSE. Both should be along in January 2013.
I’ve got more books coming from Dark Regions Press including a weird western novel, THE RAVINE and I’ve recently signed a six book deal with DARKFUSE that’ll keep me busy and out of mischief for a while.
I’ve also pitched a PROFESSOR CHALLENGER collection to Dark Regions, and I’ll be as excited as a very excited thing if that pans out.

One thought on “Interview: William Meikle : 13 Ghosts of Christmas

Leave a Reply

