Interview: 5 Minutes With Ian Woodhead

Today folks, it’s the turn of Ian Woodhead, I’ve known Ian for about six years, he likes to write about zombies, but we won’t hold that against him.

Could you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?

That should be an easy one to answer and yet, I’m stuck already. I mean, where do I start? Er, Yeah, okay, Jim, you’re right. I should just state a few facts, just to get me warmed up.
You already know most of my name. My middle one though, is Richard. I entered this planet in 1969 on the 19th of April. I don’t remember this experience. 
I live in the Bradford, I’m married with children plus a few pets.
Yeah, this is getting easier. 

Do you prefer the term Horror, Weird Fiction or Dark Fiction?

I grew up reading horror books. Back in the 70’s and 80’s, I don’t believe the latter two genres existed. 

Who are some of your favourite authors?

Oh god, that is way too hard to answer! There’s just too many to name. I can safely say though, that my favourite ever story is Imajica by Clive Barker.

What are you reading now?

I’m Still trying to make my way through Ash by James Herbert. Sorry, but I’m finding it hard going.

 Which book do you wish you had written?

See above. No wait, I mean the one above Ash.

How would you describe your writing style?

I’d go for simple horror pulp, I think. I like to make my characters feel realistic. 

Describe a typical day spent writing. Do you have any unusual writing habits?

I always carry a notebook and pen. I write when I can and when I get an idea. There have been a few times when the pen and book comes out when I’m out shopping with my wife.

I try to write every day, if I can. It can be difficult. I’m so easily distracted, thank you, Facebook and smartphones. Thanks to you, my daily productivity can sometime drop to bugger all. It isn’t a great shock to find that I find I’m more productive away from this PC, either when I’m at work or deep in the woods.

What piece of your own work are you most proud of?

Third Sight. I loved writing that one. 

Can you tell us about your last book, and can you tell us about what you are working on next?

My last book was about zombies, Jim. I’ll not elaborate.

 I have almost completed one called Rags and Bones. It’s set in a town where nearly everyone is bad. Murderers, rapists, sexual deviants, basically the dregs of society. The idea is that this town plus a few others scattered around the planet have to exist to provide balance for the rest of society. Of course, no country lives in some sort of utopia, but without the towns providing equilibrium, our society would just collapse. The town has a set of guardians that ensure the ones born in town never leave, also their disgusting acts happen out of sight, behind closed doors. Now this town does house a large number of ‘normal’ people who don’t see any of the debauchery, but are aware that the place is tainted. Our story starts with the owner of one of the largest factories in the town wanting to bring everything out into the open. He wants the blood to run through the streets. The man achieves this and the results are gruesome, bloody and horrifying. 

2 thoughts on “Interview: 5 Minutes With Ian Woodhead

Leave a Reply

