Interview: Five Minutes With Ryan C. Thomas.

Today I am honoured to have Ryan C. Thomas over for a chat.  Ryan  works as an editor in San Diego, California. You can usually find him in the bars on the weekends playing with his band, The Buzzbombs. You can also catch him on the road with his other musical act, Cash’d Out.

Could you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?

I’m the author of several horror novels, including Hissers, The Summer I Died, Born to Bleed, The Undead world of Oz, Ratings Game, and some that are still forthcoming. Beyond that I am the current editor in chief for Grand Mal Press and a nationally touring musician for the Johnny Cash tribute act, Cash’d Out. And, um, I once laughed so hard while eating cookies and milk that the cookies came out my nose…not the milk. And it hurt for days.

Do you prefer the term Horror, Weird Fiction or Dark Fiction?

Well, I prefer the term palooka, but it’s kind of antiquated so let’s just go with the simple term: writer. Horror, dark fiction, weird fiction….it’s all just writing. I don’t think authors should try to pigeon hole themselves. I’ll leave that up to the readers.

Who are some of your favourite authors?

Joe Lansdale, Terry Pratchett, Clive Cussler, Richard Matheson, Gregory McDonald, Jack Ketchum, Richard K. Morgan….to name a few.

What are you reading now?

I’m just finishing up a Dirk Pitt novel by Clive Cussler called Cyclops. It’s great escapism. Sort of a James Bond meets Indiana Jones meets any of the Die Hard movies. It’s completely ridiculous but so much fun.

Which book do you wish you had written?

12 Conversations You Should Never Have with a Corpse. I don’t think it’s ever been written by anyone else, so maybe I still can. But if you mean one that’s already written, I’ll go with Charlotte’s Web. Because my pig would have eaten that spider and saved itself a lot of misery.

How would you describe your writing style?

Drunken Master Kung Fu.

Describe a typical day spent writing. Do you have any unusual writing habits?

Write a page, watch tv, write a page, goof off on facebook, write a page, take a shower, write a page, play video games, write a page, make lunch, read comic books, play with the dog, write a page, stalk Betty White, and so on.

What piece of your own work are you most proud of?

I guess The Summer I Died, since it receives the most praise and it was my first attempt at a novel. I wasn’t sure I could pull off this writing thing when I did it, and I put a lot of energy into it. It’s now gotten two movie offers and I’m crossing my fingers this latest one comes through.


Can you tell us about your last book, and can you tell us about what you are working on next? 

The last book was a novel about giant insects. It’s currently being looked at by a publisher so I don’t want to give away too much. It’s pretty much a throwback to old 50’s movies about giant bugs with the intensity (I hope) of Jurassic Park. Right now I’m working on Hissers 2, which is just about done. Give me another week or so and I’ll put The End on it and begin book 3 in that trilogy. Then stalk Betty White some more.

If you enjoyed this interview and fancy reading some of Ryan’s work, which I suggest you do.  Then please consider purchasing via the link below.  The small cut I get goes a long way to keeping this blog alive 

Leave a Reply

