Interview: Five Minutes With David T Wilbanks

Today I am honoured to have David. T Wilbanks over for a chat.  I first came across David’s writing via the anthology Living After Midnight, which as the title suggest is an anthology where the stories take their titles from classic Heavy Metal songs.   He is also the co author of the acclaimed Dead Earth : The Green Dawn. 
Could you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?

I write fantasy fiction, most of it dark, and have published it with folks like PS and Permuted.

Do you prefer the term Horror, Weird Fiction or Dark Fiction?
I have no preference. It all runs together for me when I write anyway. I guess dark fiction comes closest to what I do.
Who are some of your favourite authors?
Victor Hugo, H.G. Wells, Edgar Rice Burroughs, Robert E. Howard, Richard Matheson, Michael Moorcock, Philip K. Dick, Kurt Vonnegut, John Steinbeck, Ross MacDonald, Stephen King, Gene Wolfe, George R.R. Martin, Clive Barker, Thomas Ligotti, Tom Piccirilli…
What are you reading now?
Middlemarch by George Eliot, and as a fiction juror I’m reading debut horror novels for the rest of 2012.
Which book do you wish you had written?
The Book of the New Sun by Gene Wolfe is a masterpiece of science fantasy. Or I should say, it’s a masterpiece—period.
How would you describe your writing style?
That one’s tough. I’ve been told I can do different styles. Mainly, I prefer to get right to the point. Fast-paced, I guess you’d call it.
Describe a typical day spent writing. Do you have any unusual writing habits?
If I write, it’s at night after my day job—that’s if I have any energy left. Or on weekends. There is nothing really unusual about my habits as a writer.
What piece of your own work are you most proud of?
I have no preference. After I’m finished with a piece, I feel a sense of accomplishment but never want to look at it again.
Can you tell us about your last book, and can you tell us about what you are working on next?
My last book was a sword and sorcery novella with the delicate title of Hellfighter, sort of an experiment in e-book self-publishing that Craig Clarke and I made available through our own Acid Grave Press. A few people were waiting to read that one for a long time and now they can.
Next year, Mark Justice and I release the post-apocalyptic novel Dead Earth: Sanctuary through Permuted Press, the third book in this sf/horror series. I think people who like pulp and comics and that sort of thing should have fun with it.
Right now, I’m working on a fantasy novel, a sequel to Hellfighter. I have lots of ideas for novels but don’t get much writing time these days. I do what I can.

  If you enjoyed this interview, and fancy reading some of David’s work then please consider purchasing it through the link below.  The Small remuneration I receive goes a long way in keeping this site active. 
Leave a Reply

