News and Review: Ward 19 by John Llewellyn Probert

The rather dashing and extremely talented John Llewellyn Probert, has just announced the release of his brand new spanking novelette, Ward 19.  

St Margaret’s Hospital has 18 Wards. 

And one extra one that no one wants to visit. 

Ward 19.

The mortuary. 

But when horribly dissected corpses starting appearing on the hospital grounds, it is about to get very crowded.

The CID coroner Parva Corcoran must work out why the hospital’s own staff – dedicated to saving lives – are being targeted by a serial killer who shows no mercy? And why the bodies have been horribly mutilated? 

As she starts to uncover the horrifying truth of Ward 19, her own professional past is called into question. And as she digs into the toughest case of her career, the reality is far worse than anything she could have imagined. 

‘Ward 19’ is a gripping suspense thriller, featuring coroner Parva Corcoran, a coroner with a mysterious past, and a character who is as memorable as she is smart

It is perfect for fans of Patricia Cornwell, Karen Rose, and Neil White. 

‘Serial killers don’t come any more twisted than this. An enjoyably dark suspense thriller.’ – Scott Griffin, best-selling author of ‘The Donor’ and ‘The Nightwatchman’. 

JOHN LLEWELLYN PROBERT is the author of five short story collections including The Faculty of Terror which won the Children of the Night award, its sequel The Catacombs of Fear, Coffin Nails and Wicked Delights. His latest books are the novella The Nine Deaths of Dr Valentine and the novel The House That Death Built. He is a full time Consultant Surgeon practising in the UK, and he writes in the hours well past midnight. He feels very lucky that he needs very little sleep. He is married to the horror writer Thana Niveau, and they live in a Victorian gothic house near Bristol. They have yet to explore the walled-up portion of their attic (that also has a bricked-up window), and are saving that for a rainy day.

The book is so good I have already posted my review on Amazon.

Review 

This is a very good read, full of classic Probert flair.  Not content with being a first class horror author, John L Probert has now turned his pen to the pulp crime genre. Ward 19 is a excellent and thrilling novellete length story. Within the confined if the story’s length Probert has written a fast paced and high entertaining story. Hopefully this will be the first in the continuing adventures if Parva Corcoran.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: