Interview : Five Minutes With Cate Gardner

Today I am very honoured to have the wonderful  Cate Gardner.  Cate first came to my attention via her extremely good chapbook Nowhere Hall, published by Spectral Press.

Could you tell the readers a little about yourself?

By day, I’m a mild-mannered receptionist, by night a writer. I spend far much time surfing the internet, making lists of things I should be doing and contemplating using my exercise bike as something other than a clotheshorse. Love going on long walks with my boyfriend, the awesomely talented Simon Bestwick, and may have to take up mud wrestling because I seem to full down in the mud every time I go for said walks. I’ve had over a hundred short stories published, a short story collection, two chapbooks and two novellas. One day, I hope to add novel to that list.

Do you prefer the term Horror, Weird Fiction or Dark Fiction?

I don’t have a preference. I tend to describe my stuff as weird rather than horror though often when writing I’m aiming for horror until whimsy gets in the way. 

Who are some of your favourite authors?

Robert Shearman, Gina Ranalli, John Wyndam, Joe Hill, Neil Gaiman, Harlan Coben, and Simon Bestwick (I know, I know). 

What are you reading now?

I’m about to start reading ‘Nightingale Songs’ by Simon Strantzas. 

Which book do you wish you had written?

Tiny Deaths by Robert Shearman. A brilliant collection. 

How would you describe your writing style?

Dark, whimsical and (hopefully) humorous. 

Describe a typical day spent writing. Do you have any unusual writing habits?

Arrive home from work, switch on the computer, dick about on Twitter or Facebook, settle in to do some writing, dick about some more on Twitter or Facebook, set my timer as I realise I’m wasting time, do some more writing, timer goes off, ignore Twitter and Facebook, reset timer, rinse and repeat until I run out of time. 

What piece of your own work are you most proud of?

My novella Theatre of Curious Acts where First World War soldiers already broken by war are the world’s only hope in a battle with the Horsewomen of the Apocalypse. 

Can you tell us about your last book, and can you tell us about what you are working on next?

My last book was a novella, Barbed Wire Hearts, published by Delirium Books (now Dark Fuse). A boy with a broken heart has to stop a monster from stealing the hearts of everyone in town while spiders spin webs about the townsfolk, stupefying them. 

I’m currently at the editing stage of another novella, The Bureau of Them. This one is a ghost story about lost love, grief and wanting to tear the world apart. 

Thank you for the interview, Jim.

One thought on “Interview : Five Minutes With Cate Gardner

Leave a Reply

