Interview: Five Minutes With D.M. Youngquist

Today I am honoured to have D.M. Youngquist over for a chat, as well as being a talented author, David is also the President of Dark Continents Publishing. A relatively new publisher how as produced a fine selection of books.

Could you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?
Little about myself: Outside my writing, I’m a Father and Husband. I’ve been married for 14 years and have a wonderful, if at times trying, 13 year old daughter and 21 year old son. My son is working as a automotive tech, while my daughter is in Junior High. My wife works as well, and is a good advisor on my writing. As for my writing, I’m a publisher, author, and one of the founding members of Dark Continents Publishing. I work with my amazing author/business partners Tracie McBride, Adrian Chamberlin and Sylvia Shults. My books run the gamut from ghost stories, to z-poc to alt history to nontraditional fantasy.
Do you prefer the term Horror, Weird Fiction or Dark Fiction?
We started DCP using the term “Dark Speculative Fiction,” but no one knew what that was, and it’s a mouthful to say. I believe Dark Fiction covers things well. Horror is quite polarizing. You tell someone it’s a book of “horror” and you “Oh, I never read that.” And DCP is now into Urban Fantasy as well, and have a number of volumes of what I call “Horror Lite.”
Who are some of your favourite authors?
Favorite authors: Of course Stephen King, but some of his books I’ve thrown across the room at the end. (ask specifically, and I’ll tell you off record) Jim Butcher, J.A. Konrath, Mark Twain, James Herriot, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Piers Anthony, Peter Hathaway Capstick, Jack Ketchum and of course the writers who I work with have all become favorites. You have to realize, I’m a voracious reader of all genres. I also used to be a history teacher. I read things like “Germany Under Hitler” for fun.
What are you reading now?
 What am I reading now?: From a Buick Eight and The Making of England; 55BC to 1399. Also reading my magazines like American Rifleman and Zombie Nation.
 Which book do you wish you had written?
What book do I wish I had written: The Stand. Amazing piece of work. In my opinion, King’s best.
How would you describe your writing style?
How would I describe my writing style: Blended? I write in so many various genres, there are subtle differences in my books. Overall, I would say lean. I started as a reporter, and wrote nonfiction first. So I learned to get to the meat of the story right off the bat. It annoys the hell out of some people, but I don’t spend five pages describing the function of an obsolete satellite.
Describe a typical day spent writing. Do you have any unusual writing habits?
I’m a pretty hard core, no nonsense writer. I get up at 4:30am, brew a pot of coffee, and start writing. I’ll go over what I wrote the morning before, tweak it, and start on the new stuff. I’ll write for two hours, then get Kayla up for school, and Fay up for work. I’ll throw on my work clothes, pack my lunch, and make a few little additions to what I was writing. After work, I’ll come home, work on DCP business, and maybe get a little more writing in, but family time takes precedence, and I’m a slug for writing in the afternoon. Weird writing quirks? Not really. Except for maybe the time I start the day. I do have a Guinness when I’m finished with a novel though, to celebrate.
What piece of your own work are you most proud of?
What of my own work am I most proud of? That’s like asking to pick your favorite kid. I like my Snareville stories, and my ghost story collections were my first, but I think the one I’m most proud of is “Black Jack.” This is my nontraditional fantasy novel that will be released next year. I love that book. It goes much deeper and develops the people in it to a much higher level than anything else I’ve written. Jack is such a bleak character, but he triumphs over what was destroying him.
Can you tell us about your last book, and can you tell us about what you are working on next?
My last book, and the one I’m currently working on: My last book published was Snareville II: Circles. A fun book to write. It’s a continuation of Danny Death and the z-poc that has swept the world. This one was written as a traditional novel, and it was a blast moving the folks of Snareville forward in this new world. Those who’ve read it, really love it, and I’m thankful for that. I’m working on the third book in the series with Adrian Chamberlin. We’re bringing two groups of survivors together: The people in the US in Snareville, and the people in the UK who were the last survivors in Wallingford. It’s great working together, and has been a learning experience. I’m also working on the third installment of the Black Jack series. The first novel takes place in the world of Gwennolyn, the second takes place seven years later here in our world, and for the third, Jack and his people are back in Gwennolyn.
Leave a Reply

