Interview: Five Minutes Witrh Paul S, Huggins

 Today we have Paul. S Huggins over for a chat.  Paul  has been a fan of horror since an early age. He has now made the momentous decision to impart his darkest most terrifying thoughts and ideas to paper. Paul hails from the United Kingdom within the witchcraft rich county of Suffolk, and resides there with his Wife, two daughters and a familiar. Paul would say zombies are in his blood, but thankfully he is still living.

 Could you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?
I live in the history rich county of Suffolk in the UK, although I originally hail from a small village in Cambridgeshire where stories of witchcraft were rife. Over the years I’ve experienced many ‘strange’ occurrence’s most of which remain unexplained. These are the things I use for inspiration, along with a love of horror movies.
I’m also one of the few motorcyclists that still ride all year round, rain or shine. I like to think of myself as one of life’s little renegades.
Do you prefer the term Horror, Weird Fiction or Dark Fiction?
Horror for me, it covers such a wide range of terrors. I have written mostly post-apocalyptic stories, but am being drawn more to the supernatural.
Who are some of your favourite authors?
So many to mention, but let’s whittle it down. John Wyndham, I love those pesky triffids, George Orwell, his terrifying vision of the future in 1984 and his deciphering of totalitarianism in Animal Farm were just genius.
More recently David Moody still sits top of my poll, along with Iain McKinnon. The only American’s in the shortlist Matthew Darst, whose novel ‘Dead Things’ is one of the most original I’ve read and Richard M Cochran, who’s mixture of sci-fi, comedy, horror and bizarro never ceases to give me enjoyment.
I’m honoured to say that the last four have become good friends over the last few years.
What are you reading now?
I’m reading a couple at the moment. Metahorde by Sean T Page and Jim McCuaig, The ministry of Zombies books are always a great source of information on dealing with the undead. The second is ‘Vermilion Dawn’ by Joseph Freeman, I’m not far into it but the quality of writing is absolutely superb.
 Which book do you wish you had written?
Easy that, John Wyndhams ‘The day of the triffids’. I would hope that I could create such a timeless tale that reads like the present in any era.
How would you describe your writing style?
I like to drive by my characters, they lead the way. With the short stories I’ve written I’ve always tried to include unnoticeable twists and leave the reader wondering, or even better to get them to read a tale again!!
Describe a typical day spent writing. Do you have any unusual writing habits?
Having a busy family time can be at a premium, the majority of my writing is done in the midnight hours. I’m a night person and feel at my most alive at those late/early hours. As for unusual habits, writing in bed lying on my front over the pillows is the most annoying for the other half.
What piece of your own work are you most proud of?
I’m proud of all the short stories that get accepted for publication. It amazes me that someone else likes, and sees worth in something I have created. My first novel is complete, but currently unpublished I’m pretty proud of what I have achieved there. Self-publishing my little short story collection was another moment of pride, especially as I did everything myself, with some help with the editing of course.
Can you tell us about your last book, and can you tell us about what you are working on next?
My current book is a small collection of six of my short stories, a taster if you will. The first in the collection ‘The Journey Home’ is one of my personal favourites, there’s also a completely true story in there as well, although the names have been changed to protect the, well innocentish J
As I previously said my novel ‘Beyond Isaiah’ is complete. It’s a story set nine months into a zombie apocalypse. I’m currently a few thousand words into my next novel a supernatural cult based adventure this time.
The ideas always keep coming.
Leave a Reply

