Interview: Five Minutes With John Palisano


Today at Ginger Nut Towers I am proud to have John Palisano over for a chat.  As well as spending time as a intern for Ridley Scott, John has penned among other things the excellent novel Nerves. 

 Could you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?

My name is John Palisano. Writer. Novels. Short stories. Scripts.

Do you prefer the term Horror, Weird Fiction or Dark Fiction?
Horror, but I like Weird, as well.
Who are some of your favourite authors?
Stephen King. Richard Matheson. Douglas Adams. Joe R. Lansdale. Anne Rice. Clive Barker. Lisa Morton. Sarah Langan. Alexandra Sokoloff. John Skipp. Cody Goodfellow. Thomas Ligotti. F. Paul Wilson. Joe Hill. China Mieville. Anything Bizarro. The list goes on and on.
What are you reading now?
Just read Lisa Morton’s “Halloween Jack” short from Cemetery Dance, which is just gorgeous, and making my way through Brad C. Hodson’s “Darling.” Both great books. Seriously? My books to be read pile is ridiculous at this point, especially with the e-books.
 Which book do you wish you had written?
“The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy”
How would you describe your writing style?
Intense and emotional. I wouldn’t have it otherwise.
Describe a typical day spent writing. Do you have any unusual writing habits?
I write every day. Lately, most of my new writing is done by hand in a notebook. When I’m at the computer, there’s too many distractions and too much business going on. Writing by hand separates me from that nonsense and allows me to focus. These periods are often not stratight, or very long, but are stolen along the way all day and night. It never ends.
What piece of your own work are you most proud of?
“Nerves”, my novel from Bad Moon, is at the top for me right now. I’m very happy with how it came out. There’s a larger story being told, and it’s touched upon in “Gaia Ungaia” in the Chiral Mad anthology, along with several other short stories. If one looks closely, there are threads and answers in several different places.
Can you tell us about your last book, and can you tell us about what you are working on next?
“Nerves” is an epic about two brothers, who just happen to develop the ability to shoot their nerves from their fingertips and either re-animate, or kill. It travels through other worlds, and there is a large cast of odd character, including the delectable Ogam, my favourite villain. He’s one mean cat.
Many projects are upcoming, the most immediate is a novella, “The BiPolar Express” coming 2013 from Dog Horn in the U.K. It’s a departure for me in that it’s a humorous riff on the kid’s book “Polar Express”, only it attempts to skew the modern reliance on mood altering drugs. Writing it had me laughing to myself many times. Which means it is likely only funny to me and will be used as evidence of my plunge off the deep end sometime next year.
http:www.johnpalisano.wordpress.com

If you enjoyed this interview, and fancy reading some of John’s work then please consider purchasing it through the link below.  The Small remuneration I receive goes a long way in keeping this site active. 

Leave a Reply

