Interview: Five Minutes With Adam Millard

 Today I’m honoured to have Adam Millard over for a chat.  His first break came when his Short story ‘What’s the world coming to?’ was published in 2003. His first novel ‘Only in Whispers’ was published the following year by Planetree. Two fantasy/comedy novels followed in 2008. Then  Dead West was released in 2011 a zombie-western.   This was followed up by his first anthology, Chasing Nightmares, before Adam wrote a comedy children’s zombie novel so that he had something to read to his baby son before bedtime without his wife going mental.  A second book in the Dead Series was released in September 2011.  Dead Cells, set in a maximum security prison, is a no-holds-barred zombie thriller. The third book in the series, Dead Frost, was released in March 2012. Adam then took a break from zombies to work on the supernatural novels, The Susceptibles and Deathdealers, and the twisted retelling of a Dickens classic, Olly. He returns with the final book in the Dead series in March 2013 with Dead Line.

Could you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?
My name’s Adam Millard and I’m the author of twelve novels and more than a hundred short stories. I write primarily horror fiction but I also write comedy-horror for teenagers. I’m also the owner/editor of Crowded Quarantine Publications and have three chickens, two rabbits, a cat and a baby.
Do you prefer the term Horror, Weird Fiction or Dark Fiction?
I don’t see the stigma behind calling myself a horror writer. That’s what I am, and when people ask me what I do for a living I proudly tell them. There are so many sub-genres now that it’s easy to whittle yourself down to something specific, but I wouldn’t want to do that. By writing “Horror” you are allowing yourself the creative freedom to do what the hell you want, something you lose the minute you profess to writing “Paranormal Romance” or “Urban Fantasy”.
Who are some of your favourite authors?
It goes without saying that Stephen King, Richard Laymon and Ramsey Campbell have played a large part in why I started writing in the first place. I grew up devouring everything I could get my hands on by these authors. More recently, though, I’ve thoroughly enjoyed everything I’ve read by Adam Nevill, Gary McMahon, David Moody and Jack Ketchum. There are so many great writers out there it’s almost impossible to pick favourites. It’s like someone asking you which limb you could live without.
What are you reading now?
I’m currently reading The Count Of Eleven by Ramsey Campbell, which is a wonderfully bleak tale of one man’s transition from video-store owning family-man to unstoppable serial-killer. Last week I read Anno Dracula and Moriarty by Kim Newman, which were both amazing books. Newman writes like a modern-day Dickens; his prose is flawless.
 Which book do you wish you had written?
King’s The Stand. It’s one of the only books I have read to the end and then flipped back to page 1 and started over. I think I’ve said in interviews before that if I had to take one book to a desert island, this would be it. It’s the perfect tale of Good Vs Evil, and in my opinion the unabridged version is one of the best books of all time.
How would you describe your writing style?
I’m not sure how to describe it. It’s still evolving. With my early work I was perhaps overly descriptive. There’s no need for it. Succinct and powerful is better than wordy and fruitless.
Describe a typical day spent writing. Do you have any unusual writing habits?
Like I said in my first answer, I’m the proud owner of a brand new little human, and who would have thought they could take up so much of that useful time you used to take for granted, but they do. Now, I try to write whenever I can. I have a 2000 word target each day. Some days I hit it and I’m happy; other days I don’t and accept that what I’ve achieved is better than nothing. As far as habits go, I’m a coffee-addict and have to have a steaming cup of something Brazilian next to me while I write otherwise it comes out in Sanskrit. I owe a considerable amount of thanks to Nestlé for making me the writer I am today.
What piece of your own work are you most proud of?
I’m very proud of Dead Cells, but I would have to say that the piece I’m most proud of is not released until March, and that is the final chapter in the series. It was difficult to create a satisfying conclusion at the end of the trilogy, but I think I managed it.
Can you tell us about your last book, and can you tell us about what you are working on next?
My last released book was Deathdealers, which featured a private detective who bites off more than he can chew with his latest case. Dead Line is the final book in the Dead series and will be launching at Cardiff Comic Expo in March 2013, and I’ve just started work on the sequel to Peter Crombie, Teenage Zombie, my comedy-horror for kids. Peter Crombie Vs The Grampires will be released late 2013.
Thanks for having me, Jim

If you enjoyed this interview, and fancy reading some of Adam’s work then please consider purchasing it through the link below.  The Small remuneration I receive goes a long way in keeping this site active. 

Leave a Reply

