Interview: Five Minutes With Paul D Brazill

Today I am very honoured to have Paul D Brazill over for a chat.  Paul is one of those rare breed of authors who manages to write brilliant fiction in both the horror and Noir genres.

Could you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?

I’m from Hartlepool in England and am in self- imposed exile in Bydgoszcz, Poland.
I left school at 16 – which I’ve always thought was a couple of years too late, really – and have recently tumbled over the precipice of middle age into my sixth decade on the planet- emphasis on the decay.
I once saw Bert Kwouk very, very drunk and I used to play bass in a couple of post-punk bands.
I started writing flash fiction a few years ago and have continued to inflict my nonsense on the world ever since.
Do you prefer the term Horror, Weird Fiction or Dark Fiction?
Well, of the three, dark fiction is closer to my stuff, though there is usually some humour there. I hope.
I have written a few horror stories, mind you. The Roman Dalton werewolf / private eye yarns I created are horror, though not particularly chilling, I think!
Who are some of your favourite authors?
Over the years: Charles Bukowski, Patricia Highsmith, Kurt Vonnegut, Damon Runyon, Elmore Leonard, Raymond Carver, Christopher Brookmyre, Kinky Friedman, Jim Thompson – always a pleasure, never a chore. Many more, of course.
More recently: Richard Godwin, Allan Guthrie, Charlie Williams, Patti Abbot, Heath Lowrance, Tony Black, Eric Beetner, William Ryan, Les Edgerton, Josh Stallings, Declan Burke, Dave Zeltserman, Julia Madeleine. Loads more.
What are you reading now?
I’ve recently finished Kevin Lynn Helmick’s Driving Alone, Pearce Hansen’s The Storm Giants and Mark West’s What Gets Left Behind – all corkers. Jan Kozlowski’s Die! Bastard Die! Has jumped to the front of the TBR pile and is great stuff.
 Which book do you wish you had written?
Richard Ford’s The Sportswriter. A book I grew into and grew with.
How would you describe your writing style?
Ad hoc, slap dash twaddle.
Describe a typical day spent writing. Do you have any unusual writing habits?
I don’t have a routine and I certainly don’t write every day. I’m a shameless dilettante. I fit it in amongst all the other cobblers – as the bishop said to the actor.
What piece of your own work are you most proud of?
I really don’t think like that about writing but I did enjoy my novelette Red Esperanto/ Rosso Esperanto which the Italian publishers Atlantis put out recently. It has personality. Personality goes a long way.
Can you tell us about your last book, and can you tell us about what you are working on next?
The Gumshoe is a Brit Grit sit-com about a private eye, called Peter Ord, freewheeling his drunken way through a town not unlike Hartlepool. It should be out in the next couple of months.
The novella Guns Of  Brixton – a sweary Ealing Comedy -has been waiting patiently to be published for over a year now, and  I hope to see light at the end of the tunnel soon.

I’m putting together a second volume of Drunk On The Moon stories featuring werewolf PI Roman Dalton. Contributors include Matt Hilton, Vincent Zandri and Carrie Clevenger.

I’m writing a follow up to Red Esperanto, which will be part of a short series for Atlantis. The first story was set in Warsaw- where I lived for a few years and the second takes place in Madrid, where I spent a hot, hot, hot summer. I’m going to drag the ant-hero Luke Case around the globe a bit.
2 thoughts on “Interview: Five Minutes With Paul D Brazill

Leave a Reply

