Fan Tales: Anthony Kendall

Today’s Fan Tales is with my brother from another country Anthony Kendall.

Tell us about yourself 
My name is Anthony. I write, have a passion for all things culinary and barbecue, and an avid reader. Lived a pretty colorful life. Experienced life as a semi-professional wrestler on and off for ten years, have attended quite a few Cons, and work full-time with children who are disabled.
What’s your favourite genre, and why?
I am kind of inbetween genres, really. My first love was Fantasy, but I also thoroughly enjoy horror and crime noir.
I enjoy all three because they can be very dark and gritty, laced with bits of humor. I like my fiction to have an edge of realism. Even if the story is about a rampaging robot traversing space and time in a shitter from the future.
Can you remember what first set you on this path? 
My mother. She loves to read. And she is also the first person who introduced me to horror (The Night Stalker and Dark Shadows as a child).
Is there anything about the genre you dislike?
I am finding it harder and harder to enjoy horror. Too much muck out there for my liking. I am a huge fan of the technological advances, but now any jagoff with the money and know-how can churn out a novel or story (but I guess that is true of all genres).
And the level of asskissery seems to have reached it’s max potential. Just write. Don’t worry about your “fans”, verbally felating every writer you come across on every social media site, publicising how much of this and that is going into writing outlines, or telling everyone how much you’re writing because you’re a writer and that’s what writers do. *mimes gun to head*
Who are your favourite authors? 
Just a small sampling: Ray Garton, Brian Keene, Bryan Smith, Ed Goreman, Tom Piccirilli, Robert E. Howard, Jeff Strand, F. Paul Wilson, Richard K. Morgan, Gina Ranalli, Scott Lynch, Joe Abercrombie, George R. R. Martin, and so on.
Have your tastes changed over the years?
As a younger reader, I wanted gore, gore, sex, and gore. But as I’ve matured a bit, I am just as interested in the body of the material. But I still like gore. And boobies.
What would be your desert island book?
George R. R. Martin’s A Game of Thrones.
What are you reading now?
All The Young Warriors by Anthony Neil Smith
Have you discovered any new authors of note this year?
Richard K. Morgan. Fantasy Noir. Love it.
Are there any books being released in the future that you are really looking forward to reading?
Pretty much excited for anything new from any of the writers listed above, but nothing that I can think of off the top of my head.
Leave a Reply

