Interview : Five Minutes With Peter Dudar

In the true spirit of Halloween I’m going hell for leather with posts today.  So as a partner to my review of Peter’s Book A Requiem For Dead Flies, here is my Five Minutes with the man of the moment 

Could you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?
I was raised in Albany, NY but now live happily in Maine.  I work nights for the Postal Service, where I spend a lot of time daydreaming and coming up with new story ideas.  I’m a proud member of the New England Horror Writers and a columnist for a website called CinemaKnifeFight.com.   
Do you prefer the term Horror, Weird Fiction or Dark Fiction? 

I think I prefer Horror, simply because it’s a broad enough category to cover the other two.  Dark Fiction sounds a bit romantic, and Weird Fiction seems like it would be easily dismissed by folks outside the genre.
Who are some of your favourite authors? 
Stephen King, Joe R. Lansdale, Douglas Clegg, Harlan Ellison, Lovecraft and Poe. 
What are you reading now?
Richard Salter’s WORLD’S COLLIDER and Mark Scioneaux’s HOLLOW SHELL.
Which book do you wish you had written?
THE HAUNTING OF HILL HOUSE.
How would you describe your writing style? 
I’d consider it to be very subtle and restrained, and hopefully psychological. 
Describe a typical day spent writing. Do you have any unusual writing habits? 
Because I work nights, and have a five-year-old constantly fighting for attention when she’s not in school, my best writing time is on my nights off when the family is asleep.  I hate to admit it, but I really find myself in the zone if I have a tumbler of whiskey on rocks while I’m working.  But if I have something that needs to get out of my head, I sit down at THAT moment and type until I run out of things to say.
What piece of your own work are you most proud of?
A novella called THE ANGEL OF DEATH, which I currently haven’t found a home for yet. 
Can you tell us about your last book, and can you tell us about what you are working on next?
A REQUIEM FOR DEAD FLIES is a ghost novel that takes place on a piece of farmland that my real grandparents used to own.  I spent a lot of time on that farm while growing up, and always thought that would be the perfect place for a ghost story.  My next book will arrive in 2013.  It’s called BLOOD CULT OF THE BOOBY FARMERS, and will be released by Novello Publishers.  It’s an exploitation story that began as kind of a joke, but you’ll have to read the book’s intro to find out more about it. 
Leave a Reply

