Interview: Five Minutes With Kat Yares


Today we have Kat YaresKat is an author and screenwriter living in the Arkansas backwoods. Her work has appeared both online and in print. Married to her mechanical/electrical engineer husband, they own a woodworking shop, sawmill, do computer repair work, and maintain a 15 acre homestead. When not gardening or building projects around their home, she and her husband create short genre films.

Could you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?

I like to call myself a creative person.  When I’m not writing, I’m taking pictures.  When time allows, the better half and I are making short movies based on my published short stories.  The only thing I’m not into is painting or other type of artwork crafts.  I couldn’t draw a crooked line if you asked for one.

I’m also happily married, seven grown kids and owed by two very large English Mastiffs.  I live in the boonies, with no neighbours for miles, and love it.




Do you prefer the term Horror, Weird Fiction or Dark Fiction?

I like them all actually.  Although I think they each have their own nuances in the genre.  When asked, I usually respond that I write horror primarily as many readers do not see a difference at all.



Who are some of your favourite authors?

Edgar Allen Poe, John Steinbeck and Earnest Hemingway.  Oh, you meant horror writers, well then, there is King, Straub and F. Paul Wilson.  My favourite of all time was the late Michael McDowell and I really, really wish that Robert McCammon would return to horror.


What are you reading now?

Just a second – let me grab my Kindle.  Okay, Satan’s ToyBox – Terrifying Teddies (an anthology from Angelic Knight Press, Progeny by Patrick C. Greene and The Girl Next Door by Jack Ketchum.



 Which book do you wish you had written?

Grapes of Wrath.  Oh, horror again?  The Stand by King or Swan Song by McCammon.  Would love to be able to write an end of the world as we know it epics like those.



How would you describe your writing style?

Sparse with no fluff.  I don’t feel I need to fill in all the minute details for my readers.  I would hope they could fill in most of them using their own imaginations.  Part of what makes horror so scary, at least for me, is what my own imagination cooks up when reading other books.



Describe a typical day spent writing. Do you have any unusual writing habits?

Get up, boot up, check mail and Facebook.  Check my sales and other monetary gain sites for how much I made the day before.  Spend several hours editing and revising drafts of written words.  Grab lunch (usually leftovers from the night before), work on new stuff for several hours. 

Unusual habits?  Not really, just have to have my surroundings as silent as possible.  No TV, no music, no sound on the laptop.  Even the refrigerator can sometimes take me out of the flow.




What piece of your own work are you most proud of?

All of them.  For horror, Vengeance Is Mine is and probably always be my favourite.


Can you tell us about your last book, and can you tell us about what you are working on next?

My last release, Beneath the Tor, isn’t horror at all, it’s more of a fantasy thriller set in the 1st century.  One beta reader referred to it as Mists of Avalon meets The DaVinci Code and I think that is a pretty good description.

The book coming out next month is The XIII.  It jumps over two thousand years into our near future and it many ways continues the storyline of Beneath the Tor.  It can’t be classified horror either, more suspense thriller.

The one I’m writing now, tentatively titled The Profiler will be pure psychological, gruesome horror.  I hope to have it out in the early Spring.


Leave a Reply

