Fan Tales: Tony Tremblay

For today’s fan tales, I am honoured to have Tony Tremblay answer these questions.  Tony is one of the reviewers for Horror  World , a site I have been following for more years than I care to remember.   Tony has always been one of my favourite reviewers, and when he feels the same way as I do  about a book, I get a great feeling of validation.


Tell us about yourself:
I am a very old man living in New England with a loving wife who is a Born Again Christian and I have two grown children, one of which runs a dynamite factory.  I am also a horror writer and I write horror reviews for Horror World and Cemetery Dance Magazine.
What is your favourite genre and why?
I have always had a love/hate relationship with horror novels that deal with demonic possession.  I was raised a catholic and after watching The Exorcist in a very old theater in Boston when it was first released, I have never been the same.  That movie seemed to validate the catechism I was taught and I haven’t sinned once since viewing it.
Can you remember what set you on this path?
When I was very young my father gave me the bible to read.  I devoured the Old Testament, loving all those stories of murder, vengeance, and bloodshed.   I still remember wondering what Lot’s wife was feeling when she was turned into a pillar of salt.
Is there anything about the genre you dislike?
There are two things that really get my goat.  First, while I don’t mind self-published novels, their lack of decent editing drives me up the wall.  The second thing is the proliferation of novels that deal with tropes.  I refuse to read any novel whose contents include vampires, zombies, or werewolves (unless I am assigned the novel by my editor). 
Who are your favorite authors?
There are several authors that always go to the top of my reading pile.  Tom Piccrilli, Steve Vernon, Rob Dunbar, Tim Curran, Sandy DeLuca, Terry Wright, Gary Braunbeck, and of course the masters like King, Straub, McCammon, Simmons, and Greg Gifune.
How have your tastes changed over the years?
Once again I have two answers for you.  The first is that I avoid most extreme horror novels now.  In the past I was dumbstruck and felt violated by the genre – feelings that were new to me at the time and it was exciting to feel this way.  As an adult, gore for the sake of gore does nothing to me.  Secondly, I now search out horror that engages the reader intellectually as well as viscerally.
What would your desert island book be?
Stephen King’s, The Stand (the extended version).
What are you reading now?
This morning I finished, A Requiem for Dead Flies by Peter Dudar, it’s a ghost story set in Maine and it was quite good.  This evening I am starting an anthology for a review in Horror World called, Fresh Blood – Old Bones, from Biting Dog Press.
Have you discovered any new authors of note this year?
There are a few new authors that I discovered that I think are the balls.  I read Ania Ahlborn’s, Seed, and I think she did a fantastic job with that one.  I also thought that Eric Dimbley’s, Please Don’t Go was a great effort and I look forward to reading more from him.  But the one author who I discovered this year who has vaulted into my top ten list is Gary McMahon.  His Concrete Grove series of books kept me up nights made me late for work more than a few times.  McMahon is one hell of a writer and I’ll be delving into his back catalog shortly.
Are there any books being released in the future that you are really looking forward to reading?
Gary Braunbeck’s final novel in his Cedar Hill series of books.  It’s been a long time coming having been delayed by some unfortunate events.  And then there’s Eulogies II coming out in January from Horror World and the Anthocon – Four Horseman anthology coming out in a few weeks (the last two were shameless plugs as I have stories in each of them).  
2 thoughts on “Fan Tales: Tony Tremblay

Leave a Reply

