FAN TALES : Ellie Wixon

Here we go with the inaugural Fan Tales series of interviews, where you the readers get the chance to talk about your reading habits.  I thought long and hard about who to get to kick of this series of interviews, and came to the conclusion that it would be remiss of of me not to have the woman who is responsible for pillaging my bank account each month.  The wonderful Ellie Wixon who has the best selection of genre titles in any bookshop in the land.

Tell us about yourself

I am the Fiction & Biography Buyer for Blackwell’s Edinburgh. I also am part of the UK Buyer’s team. 

What’s your favourite genre, and why?

Horror – I favour it as it gives me real escapism. I don’t tend to read a lot of regular fiction as it just doesn’t cut for fill what I crave in a book.

Can you remember what first set you on this path?

The Alfred Hitchcock’s Three Investigate mysteries – they certainly had impact. James Herbert and Stephen King where big on my reading list, I started reading them when I was 12 yrs. old. I have always been drawn to the horror and science fiction genre. I was hooked on spooky kids TV drama’s like ‘Moondial’, ‘Children of Green Knowe’, ‘Chocky’ and ‘Doctor Who’. 

Is there anything about the genre you dislike?

I really can’t stand paranormal romance! I really despise it. It is 9 times out of 10 it is poorly written drivel! I am looking forward to the day when the ‘chick-bite’ genre is over.

Who are your favourite authors?

Stephen King, James Herbert, Adam Nevill, Richard Laymon, Dean Koontz, Alexandra Sokoloff, Adam Baker, Conrad Williams, Gary McMahon, Joseph D’Lacey, John Saul, Mark Morris, Dennis Wheatley, Graham Masterton and Bentley Little. They are loads more….!

Have your tastes changed over the years?

They have a little. My all-time favourite subject is haunted houses, apocalypse and possessions. However I am really quite enjoying the zombie genre. It has been helped along by Robert Kirkman’s awesome series ‘The Walking Dead’.

What would be your desert island book?

I would have to go for ‘The Stand’ by Stephen King. 

What are you reading now?

I have just started Justin Cronin’s ‘The Twelve’. Fantastic start so far. I really love ‘The Passage’.

Have you discovered any new authors of note this year?

‘The Return Man’ by Vito – not bad at all. Post-apocalypse what’s not to love?
‘Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs – although a bit lacking in places I thought the actual finish product was quite beautiful with the photographs throughout. 

Are there any books being released in the future that you are really looking forward to reading?

NOS4RA2 – Joe Hill
Dr. Sleep – Stephen King
House of Small Shadows – Adam Nevill
Terminus – Adam Baker
Wool – Hugh Howey

Leave a Reply

