Interview: Five Minutes With Nathan Robinson

 Today we have Nathan Robinson, Nathan lives in Scunthorpe, England with his wife/editor, twin boys and a three legged cat called Dave. He’s contributed to over fifteen different anthologies so far, with lots more on the horizon.

His crime thriller ‘Top of the Heap’ was adapted in a podcast by http://www.pseudopod.org to rave reviews.
He is currently completing four anthologies of his own work, the first to be entitled ‘Devil let me go’.

Could you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?
I live in Scunthorpe with my wife/editor and twin two year old boys who keep me busy when I’m not busy being busy. By day I travel the length and breadth of England delivering and installing office furniture. By night (if I’ve the energy) I write and read.
Do you prefer the term Horror, Weird Fiction or Dark Fiction?
Horror conjures up images of blood and gore, whilst Weird Fiction gives the impression of a story that bends the imagination. I prefer Dark Fiction as that’s what I think I write. I’m not a huge fan of gore and bizarro fiction and I like to think that my stories, by some slight twist of reality could be possible in the real world. I think that’s what makes them creepy.
Who are some of your favourite authors?
 I started off with pulpy monster writers such as Peter Tremayne and Guy N. Smith. I enjoyed the film adaptations of Stephen King as a kid but I only really started reading his work recently. I read at lot of Roald Dahl as a child and still cite him as a major influence on the way I write today. Richard Laymon is another favourite as he manages to twist his stories until the bitter end. For a period in my early twenties I went a bit mad for Hunter S Thompson, even getting a Gonzo tattoo. Oh and James Hadley Chase who writes some of the best pulpy crime fiction I’ve ever come across, so check him!
My latest favourite is Joseph D’Lacey, who I expect to be the next big horror voice from the UK if the stars are aligned right. I could go on all night talking about my favourite authors, but I won’t.
What are you reading now?
 As well as writing my stories, I’m lucky enough to be the book reviewer for www.snakebitehorror.co.uk so I get a lot of free books, so I usually have more than one on the go. I’ve just finished The Function Room by Matt Leyshon, which is just utter madness, but currently I’m reading a great zombie novel called Dead Stop by D. Nathan Hilliard and When Good Holidays Go Bad by Michael C. Dick. And I’m trying to keep up with The Walking Dead graphic novels. I keep a dictionary by the toilet as well.
 Which book do you wish you had written?
The Rum Diary by Hunter S Thompson, because it’s romantically autobiographical and it’s fun to guess which parts he took from his own life and what parts he made. Either that or Level 7 by Mordecai Roshwald.
How would you describe your writing style?

 Moralistic twisted tales that strive to find the dark heart of humanity.
Describe a typical day spent writing. Do you have any unusual writing habits?
As I said before I deliver office furniture, but often I don’t always drive, so I find myself in the passenger seat for three hours with nothing to do. I split the time between reading and writing, I found it quite easy to write at 77mph and if you want to write you soon adapt. It’s great because it leaves me more time to spend with the family instead of locking myself away in the study. Before that I’d write long into the night or wake up at 5am to get some done.
What piece of your own work are you most proud of?
Aside from my first accepted and paying piece ‘The Chicken in Black’ I’d have to say when http://www.pseudopod.org said they were adapting my gangster story ‘Top of the Heap’ into a podcast. Not only were they paying me for the privilege, they evolved my story into something else. I was happy enough with that, but when it was voted the second best story of the year I was ecstatic! I owe a lot to ‘Top of the Heap’, a lot of people love it and so do I.
Can you tell us about your last book, and can you tell us about what you are working on next?
Starers came about when at the bus stop across from my house an old man was stood staring at our house. Now, we live a newly built house so it sticks out from the older homes in the area so we’re used to having people walk past staring at our home. Anyway I looked out the window an hour or so later and the old man was still stood there, still staring at our house. I remembered thinking “What if he was still there in the morning? What if he wasn’t alone?”
And ‘Starers’ was born.
It’s my debut novel and published by Severed Press was released on October 1st. It’s just being through the Kindle two day giveaway which a lot of indie authors do and apparently it shifted 650 copies. All I need now is 650 5* reviews then I get this horrible ominous feeling that I’ve been wasting my time out of my stomach. I’ve got 3 reviews so far, all 5* so it’s a good start. Looking back I think I’m mad because I’ve written 50’000 words because an old man looked at my house. I’ve also convinced over 600 people to consider reading it as well. Which is even madder.
Next up I’m compiling a several books worth of short stories. The first is called Devil Let Me Go. After that it’s a sequel to Starers which will be titled ‘Followers’
Nathan is on twitter as @natthewriter
Keep up to date with new stories, reviews and interviews- 

Starers is available in paperback and Kindle http://www.amazon.com/dp/B009KC27CS

Leave a Reply

