Review Round Up.

I hate doing this but every day the time time I get for doing this gets shorter and shorter.  I’m, just one man, and there us only so much time in every day that I can dedicate to doing this. Trust me people if I could do this full time then I would I get a great kick out of doing this, and I am very grateful for all the books that have dropped through my letter box.  So with this in mind, please understand I have not made this choice lightly.

In an attempt to free up my review pile, I am going to do a quick review digest of a number of the books on the list.  This doesn’t mean I value your book any less so please don’t take this personally.   I will also use the dreaded rating system.  sorry Folks.

Born of Blood (The Blood Chronicles) by S B Knight

The Blood Chronicles is a series of three books chronicling the life of one family as they struggle to survive the relentless pursuit of on an unimaginable evil. Book one, Born of Blood, was released in March of 2012. Book two, Drago’s Revenge, will be available October 2012.

An engaging dark fantasy take on vampires, that could have done with being a more straight horror novel.  Decent enough prose, it just didn’t click all to that much with me.

3 out of 5 





Grim by Joseph Spencer 

Who is the man behind the mask? When everything is taken from him, Detective Adam White must choose what’s most important. Does he stick to the heroic ideals which made him a famed paragon of justice and take down a murderous madman? Or does he give in to his vigilante impulses, avenge his wife’s murder, and become the type of killer he’s hunted for so many years?

Now this is more like it.  This was a really good read, I liked the mix of occult horror and detective story.  Gritty and hard hitting.

4 out of 5

Initiate (The Unfinished Song #1)  
by Tara Maya


The initiation ceremony is the gateway to ultimate power…or death. A DETERMINED GIRL Dindi can’t do anything right, maybe because she spends more time dancing with pixies than doing her chores. Her clan hopes to marry her off and settle her down, but she dreams of becoming a Tavaedi, one of the powerful warrior-dancers whose secret magics are revealed only to those who pass a mysterious Test during the Initiation ceremony. The problem? No-one in Dindi’s clan has ever passed the Test. Her grandmother died trying. But Dindi has a plan… AN EXILED WARRIOR Kavio is the most powerful warrior-dancer in Faearth, but when he is exiled from the tribehold for a crime he didn’t commit, he decides to shed his old life. If roving cannibals and hexers don’t kill him first, this is his chance to escape the shadow of his father’s wars and his mother’s curse. But when he rescues a young Initiate girl, he finds himself drawn into as deadly a plot as any he left behind. He must decide whether to walk away or fight for her… assuming she would even accept the help of an exile

Why anyone would think I was the target audience for this sort of book is beyond me. They should either get a new rifle sight, or maybe they should go to Specsavers.  However, having said that his is  a well written and enjoyable book.  While it wasn’t my cup of tea I can see it’s value and worth within its genre.  If you like these sort of books then I think you will get a great deal of pleasure form this.

4 out of 5 

ALIEN APOCALYPSE BY DEAN GILES

Even the best of men are punished for their good intentions. Leon Weber is in the final month of his prison sentence; he’s about to go home to his son. But during a violent storm, his release comes sooner than expected, and the world he re-enters is overrun by an alien menace that hitchhiked through space on the tail of a comet. His journey to find his son will be fraught with danger and death, but the future of the world rides on his survival.

This is a serial novel, that is being published bit by bit.  Story wise its a well enough told story that is packed with action, however the stop start nature of way it’s published makes it difficult to get into.  As does the rather steep cover price of £1.25  averaging out at 60 pages this could turn out to be an expensive read.  I read that I am unlikely to continue. 

3 out of 5 





Leave a Reply

