55 Questions

This has been doing the rounds lately, so I thought I would give it a go.

1. Favourite childhood book?

The Last Legionnaire by Douglas Hill.  It told the story of the last member of an alien race of super soldiers.  Who after escaping the nuclear destruction of his planet, and sick with radiation poisoning is saved my a mysterious alien, who replaces all of his bones with an unbreakable alloy.  Kiell Randor then goes on a quest to  get revenge on those who killed his people.  The series was first published in 1979 and was clearly a cash in on Star Wars, but this book open my eyes to the wonder of genre fiction, and for that it will always have a special place in my heart 

2. What are you reading right now?

Dead Dog By Nickolas Cook, I’m about half through this book and I am loving it. 

It’s the late 70s and Max and Little Billy are back from Vietnam trying to mind their own business when they stumble onto the murder of a local boy. With organized crime and murderous thugs on their trail, it’s up to these two local heroes to solve the crime. “Nickolas Cook’s recipe includes all the right amounts of violence, humor, tough, crackling dialogue and a generous helping of juicy storytelling talent.” -Ray Garton


and 

Beyond Here Lies Nothing,  by Gary McMahon.  What can I say, it looks as though the last Concrete Grove novel is going to end on a high note. 


Ben arrives in the Concrete Grove to research a book about the Northumbrian Poltergeist, an infamous paranormal incident from the early 1970s. A set of twins were haunted by a spirit they nicknamed Captain Clickety, and the media of the time were split between derision and hysteria.As Ben teases out the supressed details of the story, he finds himself drawn to an emotionally damaged woman whose young daughter went missing years ago during a period of similar child abductions.
Then the scarecrows appear, their heads plastered with photographs of the missing and the dead. House pets are found slaughtered, their bodies built into bloody totems. Hummingbirds flock to certain areas of the estate, as if awaiting the arrival of something…
A door has been opened and a presence is about to step through. The Hummingbird Twins, beset by strange visions, might know the secret, but they aren’t talking. It is up to Ben to put the ghosts to rest and unravel fact from fiction. He is about to discover that the story he seeks is in fact his own story, and only he can plot the ending.

3. What books do you have on request at the library?

nothing 

4. Bad book habit?

Buying to many books, my local book shop has, much to the annoyance of my bank balance, one of, if not the best selection of genre books in the country.  Plus the woman who runs the genre section is just amazing. 

5. What do you currently have checked out at the library?

nothing I like to own my books. 

6. Do you have an e-reader?

Yes, but nothing beats the feel and smell of a physical book. 

7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once?

Depends, normally I try to read a short story collection at the same time as a novel. 

8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?

Not really, although I do go through reading slumps than I used to. Mainly due to the sheer number of bad books I have to wade through.

9. Least favourite book you read this year (so far)?

far too many too list. 

10. Favourite book you’ve read this year?

I’ll keep that to ,myself for now. 

11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone?

Very rarely.  I know what I like, and I like what I know.  

12. What is your reading comfort zone?

For sheer enjoyment level, I like those sort of books that whisk you along with a narrative that that hurtles along like a speeding bullet.  I read sole for the purpose of fun, there seems to be a bck lash growing against the sort of books I grew up with, i’s a back lash I don’t like.  A novel doesn’t have to be literary to be good.

13. Can you read on the bus?

It’s where I get a lot of my reading done 

14. Favourite place to read?

This will upset some book collectors, but in bath. 

15. What is your policy on book lending?

I never lend, I’ll give someone a book from my collection, but I wont lend. 

16. Do you ever dog-ear books?

Possibly 

17. Do you ever write in the margins of your books?

no. 

18. Not even with text books?

No 

19. What is your favourite language to read in?

English.

20. What makes you love a book?

I need to connect in some way with the book, either through the characters, the plot, or some of the central themes.  

21. What will inspire you to recommend a book?

If a book illicits a hell yeah response from me then I will recommend it 

22. Favourite genre?

Horror

23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did)?

Westerns 

24. Favourite biography?

Tom Bakers

25. Have you ever read a self-help book?

NO, I come from a long line of stoic Scottish farmers, if any of my ancestors got word that I had read one, they would rise out of their graves and kick me into next week. 

26. Favourite cookbook?

Ma Broons Cookook 

27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year?

not sure 

28. Favourite reading snack?

an apple 

29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience.

Harry Potter, I just thought it was contrived, dull and so middle class.  You notice folks there are no poor people, or even just plain working class people in the book.  even the Ginger family are plainly middle class.  And surely if I was being brought up as the great wand waggler that was going to kill Voldemort, I would have slapped that obnoxious twat Malfoy into the middle of next week.  

30. How often do you agree with critics about a book?

Depends on who the critics are, I have my recommended list, Colin Leslie  at the Black Abyss, Horrorworld reviews, Chris Hall at Dreadlocksmile Reviews.  However I generally disagree with every review of horror fiction at SFX Magazine. 

31. How do you feel about giving bad or negative reviews?

I won’t do them on my blog, as I want it to be a place that has a positive vibe.  However I do post my negative reviews on Amazon. 

32. If you could read in a foreign language, what language would you choose?

Japanese 

33. Most intimidating book you ever read?

Women, the Truth 

34. Most intimidating book you’re too nervous to begin?

Women The Hidden secrets 

35. Favourite poet?

I really don’t like poetry. 

36. How many books do you have checked out of the library at any given time?

I must have been 12 when I last checked out a book 

37. How often have you returned books to the library unread?

never 

38. Favourite fictional character?

Druss The Legend from David Gemmill’s Legend 

39. Favourite fictional villain?

Pennywise The Clown 

40. Books you’re most likely to bring on vacation?

Whatever takes my fancy at the time 

41. The longest I’ve gone without reading.

My biggest slump was about a month 

42. Name a book that you could/would not finish.

John Dies At The End, I know a lot of people love it, but I hate it with a passion.  So much so that when copies of it we’re going for £100, I gave it away for free. 

43. What distracts you when you’re reading.

my kids, the wife moaning

44. Favourite film adaptation of a novel?

Jaws

45. Most disappointing film adaptation?

Just about any Stephen King adaptation 

46. The most money I’ve ever spent in a bookstore at one time.

Can’t say, the wife would kill me 

47. How often do you skim a book before reading it.

never 

48. What would cause you to stop reading a book halfway through?

Bad writing, a lot of sex scenes, stuff like that 

49. Do you like to keep your books organised?

no 

50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once you’ve read them?

I keep my books, I give away the odd duplicate 

51. Are there any books you’ve been avoiding?

Millions 

52. Name a book that made you angry.

John Dies at The End

53. A book you didn’t expect to like, but did?

Chris Farnsworth The Presidents Vampire, I thought it would be another nail in the coffin for vampires, but i really enjoyed it 

54. A book that you expected to like but didn’t?

The last three James Herbert Books. 

55. Favourite guilt-free pleasure reading?

you should never feel guilty about what you read, despite what certain people say 

Leave a Reply

