The Sorrows By Jonathan Janz

Something is trapped in the castle, and it wants to feed!

The Sorrows, an island off the coast of northern California, and its castle have been uninhabited since a series of gruesome, unexplained murders in 1925. But its owner needs money, so he allows film composers Ben and Eddie and a couple of their female friends to stay a month in Castle Blackwood. Eddie is certain an eerie and reportedly haunted castle is just the setting Ben needs to find musical inspiration for a horror film.

But what they find is more horrific than any movie. For something is waiting for them in the castle. A being, once worshipped, now imprisoned, has been trapped for nearly a century. And he’s ready to feed.





These past few weeks I have been feeling a bit overwhelmed with the whole book blogging game.  It was getting to the point where I was considering jacking it in.  Too many books to read and too many wannabes knocking at my door demanding I give the attention.  I took a work enforced hiatus over the festive period, and to be honest I felt like a new man.  However I had commitments I’m a man of my word. So I bet you’re wondering where this is leading to.  I don’t know if it was the break or if it was just fate, but since returning I haven’t read a single book, that made me want to bang my head against something hard.    And thankfully this trend is kept going with Jonathan Janz’s The Sorrows.  


The Sorrows is a brilliant mix of Gothic Horror, music and first class scares.  This is the second book I’ve read in the last  six months or so, that blends the power of music brilliantly into the plot.  This is no mere plot device, it becomes in my opinion anyway, an integral part to the plot


And talking of plot, this is a fast paced page turner that will grab your attention with it’s cold clammy hand.  The modern day parts of the story are interspersed with diary entries   from the castles owner from the 1920’s These entries could have, in the hands of a less talented author, brought the narrative to a screaming stop.  Thankfully their inclusions, much like the music, serves to add an extra layer to the story.  


You can tell Jonathan knows his stuff, unlike some authors he has done his research, he knows who the past masters of the genre are, and where the roots of a good horror story lies.  And it shows in his writing, with little nods to past masters, peppering the story   


Those of you looking for a good old fashioned horror story, should look no further, Janz has brought the good old fashioned horror story bang up to date.  




3 thoughts on “The Sorrows By Jonathan Janz

Leave a Reply

