An Interview With Weston Kincade

Today folks we have an interview with author, and poet Weston Kincade 

GNOH – Hello Weston, how are you today?

Doingfine. Just staying busy with this Halloween holiday and the various blog hops.How are you?
GNOH – Could you please give the readers abit of background info on your good self?
Well,I’m an English teacher and author, married, and living on the Chesapeake Bay. Ilove writing and literature and hope to entertain readers with my stories,especially if it means keeping them squirming in their seats, but unable topull their eyes away. At least, that’s what I hope for. I also want my storiesto speak to readers. If a character can become a reader’s friend, someone theycan relate to while also allowing the reader an escape from his/her everydaylife, then maybe how the character works through his or her own problems withina story will help a reader to overcome real life obstacles.
GNOH – How would you describe your writingstyle?
Mostpeople have described my writing style as fluid, yet descriptive without losinga step. I often hear readers comment that it wasn’t like they’d read a book,but sat through a thrilling movie they just couldn’t miss a second of. Thatgets me every time. I always hope my stories can do just that, make whateverseat you’ve found the most comfortable ever and one you never want to get upfrom, at least not until you’ve finished the book.
GNOH – Have you always been a fan of thegenre, and can you remember what first turned you into a fan?
Ihaven’t always been a fan of horror books. I tend to lean toward fantasy andparanormal in my reading preferences, but when I began writing novels, I foundmyself writing less high fantasy and more paranormal with a dark twist thatreaders surprisingly said belonged in the horror genre. In some ways, I’m stilldiscovering myself and where I might go with my writing.
GNOH – What do you love about the genre andwhat annoys you about the genre?
I lovethe anticipation. If I can make someone cringe, but still clutch at the booklike it’s a life line, then the suspense is almost enough to kill me. I justlove seeing people entertained by my stories. What annoys me the most ispredictability and the same clichés reused over and over again.
GNOH – Which authors would you say have beenthe biggest influence on your writing?
A fewmodern authors have helped me on the literary yellow brick road along with afew traditional authors. In the last few years, I’ve had the support of fellowauthors and friends like Scott Rhine and Marshall J. Stephens, but also that ofmore established writers like Robert Jordan, Stephen King, and Scott Nicholson.I had the pleasure of meeting Nicholson back in the early days of college at abook signing. He signed my copy of the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the FutureCollection, Volume XV with the words, “Don’t be afraid to test the waters.They’re quite warm!” He was speaking of writing after our conversation about mywriting aspirations, and I never forgot them. Since then, his words have helpedmotivate me to take routes in my writing career that I never thought I’d traveldown. Thus far, I’m happy with the outcome and hope readers are too.
Classicauthors that have motivated me to write are Stephen Crane because of his BlackRiders poetry, John Steinbeck and his difficult decisions and twist endings,and JRR Tolkien. Tolkien’s innovative fantasy and characters are wonderful.
GNOH – What does a typical day of writing foryou involve?  Do you have any rituals ormust dos that you go through before sitting down to write?
Writingfor me is varied. Because I am a teacher with a full time job, finding the timeto write is difficult. When others are curled up in front of a television aftera long day of work, I’m deciding which of the novels, audiobook recordings,short stories, and marketing requirements to work on that evening. Afterassessing deadlines, estimating how long things will take to complete, andprioritizing my projects, I can finally sit down and edit or write. This is amental ritual that goes on, normally on my hour-long commute home from work.Then, I might put on some acoustic guitar melodies or Zoe Keating to help focusmy mind, and sit down to write.
GNOH – How do you edit your own work, do youedit as you go along, or do you wait until the draft is completed?
Both. Iedit for grammar and flow as I write, but I also wind up going over thecompleted project at least a few times to refine it as best I can. Then, itgoes off to my test readers and alternate eyes to see what I might have missed.Finally, the book will make its way to my copy editor.
GNOH – Can you tell us about, Invisible Dawn?
Sure,Invisible Dawn is a story about the unexplainable mysteries and connections toour world. People, countries, and governments all want to be superior, butsometimes the biggest problems can be a six-year-old orphan wrapped in an ashcovered nightgown. When her godfather, Jedd Altran, finds Madelin, she’simprisoned in a government mental institution to monitor and attempt to controlher evolved ability to shift worlds. Unfortunately, Madelin is in the dark, andeven her past is invisible to her.
As theybreak out, PASTOR, the black-ops group running the institution, is in hotpursuit with its first trained shifter and a mercenary group set on bringingMadelin back or eliminating her at all costs. With the help of a Cajun gambler,vampire, and a rebel mercenary on his own search for redemption, the two ofthem must discover the truth about the world and themselves.
Thestory is a tale of sorrow, redemption, and sacrifice that dips its hands inmany genres: from science fiction to dark fantasy and even horror. One readercompared it to a modern day Blade Runner with fast paced imagery and charactersthat take you on a thrilling ride and keep you on the edge of your seat.
GNOH – Was this always intended to be a series,or did you realize once you had started writing it that it needed to be aseries?
As mydebut novel, I originally intended it to be one book. However, once I saw howlong it had become, even after multiple editing passes and chapters removed, Iknew the entire story would span many more pages than I could include in onenovel. The story needed to be told, so I had no choice but to make it into aseries. So far, every reader has said they can’t wait to read the sequel. I’mcurrently working on it, tapping away at the keyboard and delving into thecharacters residing in my brain for the thrilling tale that will followInvisible Dawn in the Altered Realities series.
GNOH – What was the inspiration for the book?
Originally,I was watching Ghost Hunters and speaking with my father about the possibleplanes of existence in which ghosts inhabit when it occurred to me. What ifghosts aren’t what we think? What if they are just mirror images, reflectionsof people on closely linked planes and only an evolved few can see them? Thatwas the origin of Invisible Dawn. I had already created character introductionsfor Daniel and Madelin, but never knew where I was going with them or even ifthey’d be in the same story. After that evening, though, I knew their relationship,the tale of redemption and meaning they were striving to find.
GNOH – Can you tell us about any of theplanned sequels?
Booktwo of Altered Realities and the sequel to Invisible Dawn is titled Salvation.I have a working title for book three, but am not ready to release it until Iget further into book two. Salvation begins where book one leaves off. The ridecontinues as Madelin and her friends strive to find answers, revenge, and helpthe other innocents in PASTOR’s clutches. Difficult choices must be made as theweight of cities and even worlds rests on Madelin’s shoulders. Some questionsreaders had after book one will be answered, but the whole tale can’t berevealed until the final book. The questions that should be on the minds ofreaders are in the end, who will still be standing, what will be left, and whowill be at fault?
GNOH – You have also written A Life Of Death,a coming of age paranormal story.  Do youthink this is a horror authors rite of passage, following on the in thefootsteps of King’s It, Keene’s Ghoul, and Joe Donnelly’s Twitchy Eyes?
I’m notsure if I would call it a rite of passage. I never saw myself as a horrorauthor because A Life of Death is more of a mystery than horror, but readershave often told me that this deserves to be on horror shelves. A journalist forthe Washington County News in Virginia convinced me of its place and my ownpredilection for thrilling stories that span both the paranormal and horrormarkets. She told me that while reading, at times she thanked me, enjoying thestory and its flawed, frayed characters, but there were many times where thosemoments we shared with the characters turned ghastly. She even listed variousitems in the stories that she would never own or see in real life without rememberingAlex Drummond’s story and the murders he relived. In my opinion, this is muchmore of a horror story than Invisible Dawn, but I’m not sure what the futureholds. I know my stories are dark, but how much darker they will get isanyone’s guess. If it is a rite of passage, even I’m left wondering, to where?
GNOH – Was this a purely fictional exercise,or is there an autobiographical element to the story?
A Lifeof Death is fictional, but everything has a basis on reality. As a teacher,some students have come to me with family problems. I tell the appropriatepeople to help them, but it’s never over there. Some children have very fewpeople they trust to turn to. A teacher can be that person and help themovercome life’s obstacles. I’ve heard enough stories and talked studentsthrough enough situations that I’m sure some elements made their way into thestory’s themes and situations involving abuse and alcoholism.
GNOH – On a similar note have you ever basedany of you characters on a real person, and have they ever figured it out?
So far,the only character I’ve written about based on someone in my life is Roger fromInvisible Dawn. While his description might be different, his attitude,choices, and actions are all based on a friend that I’ve known since highschool. We lost touch years ago and when we recently spoke again, he had justbegun reading it. I mentioned to him that I’d based the character on him, andnow I’m sure he’s paying close attention to Roger as the story progresses.Whatever happens to the Cajun gambler, it will be regardless of who Ioriginally based him on, so I hope my friend doesn’t take the storyline toopersonally.
GNOH – A Life Of Death is about to get its audiobook release, can you tell usabout this?
A Lifeof Death is to be released on October 17th as a serialized audiobook throughPodiobooks.com. There are currently five complete episodes and I will releaseone per week thereafter until it’s completed. The site is great and one I usemyself on my commutes to work. I’m looking forward to seeing how A Life ofDeath does and what kind of response I get from listeners/readers.
GNOH – How did it feel hearing your storyread out for the first time?
Well,I’m actually the one reading it, so I hope my voice is to most people’s liking.It takes hours to complete one episode and has taken a lot of time to get thisfar. It did take considerable time to find the right voice for a recordingthough. We all have different timber and inflections in our words, sodiscovering what was appropriate for the mood in A Life of Death and for myreaders was interesting. Overall, I’m happy with it.
GNOH –Did it make you think “oh I could have written that bit better”, a number ofauthors have commented that on hearing the audiobook version of their novels,they have discovered weaknesses in their writing they were previously unawareof?
I tryto read most of my books out loud to eliminate this from occurring, but therehave been a few spots where I said that. Overall, I think I spend way too muchtime editing and revising, but for things like this, it seems to be provingworthwhile.
GNOH – Looking at your website, what exactlyis the one liners about.  I really likedthis one
“Thisbeats front row seats at a Bulls game,” shouted Trevor, jerking the saw acrossMason’s leg with a maniacal grin.”

Ahhhh,I began that when I first opened my Twitter account. Every good story hasmemorable lines that tell a story of their own and spark people’s imaginations.The journalist I spoke of earlier mentioned that she’d come across many linesshe loved and had written them down. She even quoted one of her favourites fromthe book. I started writing the one-liners thinking of this, famous quotes, andthe flash fiction that has become popular. I figured that if a simple line froma text could be that memorable and insightful, why not come up with my own. Atthe least, other authors experiencing writer’s block may find them motivationalor helpful in getting past it and beginning their own stories based on one ofthe lines. If people like them, they may find that their imaginations take offor the line strikes on something nostalgic or insightful. I know that not allof them will be winners, but some may. I also do it as an exercise, just comingup with something out of thin air and trying to make it fit into the limitedcharacter restrictions of a tweet. People that like them and wish to receivethem the instant they’re written should follow me on twitter @WestonKincade. AsI finish a group of them, I add them to the website for people to look back onwho aren’t following me. I try to write two or three one-liners a week.Originally, I began by writing one every night, but as life happened, thosebecame fewer. Now, I’ve found my groove. I believe I’m up to sixty-five.
GNOH  -So what does the future hold for you?

Lotsand lots of writing. I’m even co-writing a short story anthology with DavidChrisley and Marshall J. Stephens titled Strange Circumstances. It’s due outaround January. I had hoped to get it out before Halloween, but life threw mywife and I a few curveballs including a move and new job. So, the writing gotpostponed. But, I never knew how much creative writing was a part of me until Ibegan writing entire novels. Now, I can’t stop. Even a temporary hiatus for a movewas difficult. It’s like an addiction. Also, since taking the first steps downthis literary journey, I’ve become more confident in who I am than ever before.Ironically, there aren’t words to truly describe that feeling.

YOU CAN PURHASE WESTON’S BOOKS BY CLICKING THE FOLLOWING LINKS 



One thought on “An Interview With Weston Kincade

Leave a Reply

