Alice And Dorothy by J W Schnarr

A FAIRYTALE OF SEX, DRUGS, AND MURDER…Alice Pleasance has just killed a man.

Later, while suffering a heroin overdose, Alice visits a nightmare world of playing card royalty and violent tea parties. Worse, Alice discovers that her broken mind has dragged something out of her delusions and into her waking life. Something evil.
Trapped in a psychiatric ward while dealing with her drug addiction, Alice finds an unlikely friend in Dorothy Gale, a girl who knows all about other worlds and the duality of life. Sweet, gentle Dorothy, who carries a stuffed dog named Toto and has a few secrets of her own.
Now they are on the run, escaping vengeful drug dealers, trigger happy cops, and the horrors being created inside Alice’s own shattered mind. And while Dorothy clings to the promise of love as she chases a tornado across the country, Alice clings to her sanity, because the creature sharing her mind has a growing bloodlust that will not be denied.
Right, before I go any further, this is not, and I repeat this is not one of those novels where some untalented hack bastardises a classic novel by forcing against their  zombies werewolves, or some other monster into the narrative. 
What you have here is a bleak, at times disturbing, and shocking re-imaging of two classic books.  After reading the opening chapters I was unsure if I could read this book, not because of the writing, rest assured the writing here is excellent, it was the subject matter.  Alice a heroin junkie prostitute for me is not the sort of character I  want as a lead.  It’s not that I a prude, or maybe I am, I just didn’t think I could relate enough to the character to care about her.  

Schnarr, must be praised that through his writing skill and wonderfully twisted take on the characters of Wonderland, he managed to turn my feelings around, and kept me reading to the end.  

This is book is an excellent take on a classic novel, and ranks alongside James A Moore’s Bloodstained Oz as take on the wonderful world of Oz 


Buy it now from




AND 


http://rcm-uk.amazon.co.uk/e/cm?lt1=_blank&bc1=000000&IS2=1&bg1=FFFFFF&fc1=000000&lc1=0000FF&t=theginnutofho-21&o=2&p=8&l=as4&m=amazon&f=ifr&ref=ss_til&asins=B0058UX9X2

2 thoughts on “Alice And Dorothy by J W Schnarr

  1. Hey, I saw your post on Book Blogs. This sounds like a very dark read. I normally don't read books like this but there is something very intriguing about this. I think maybe I'm drawn to it because of the Alice in Wonderland and Wizard of Oz aspect. I always stay clear of classics that are re written by other people. Like you said 'some untalented hack bastardises a classic novel ' I'm just not interested. But I will be adding this one to my TBR list. It sounds really interesting! Thanks for sharing.Lucyhttp://thesecretlifeofbooksblog.blogspot.com/

  2. This sounds like a very wild and scary ride! I do like that you said it is a great mix of two classics. I may put this on my TBR list for October (goes with the month- and all the scary movies that are on tv).

Leave a Reply

