The Butterfly Man And Other Stories

The Butterfly Man And Other Stories

The Seventh Collection from award-winning writer Paul Kane (author of
the bestselling Arrowhead Trilogy)

Gathering together most of his tales from the past few years, The Butterfly Man and Other Stories is a stunning collection of imaginative fiction from one of the most critically acclaimed authors of recent times. A very strange quartet of drinkers gathers in an out of the way inn to discuss the end of the world, while a young boy receives a unique Christmas present. A phone call has chilling consequences, and one father’s loss is written on the wind. A family find themselves trapped inside a bizarre consumer-land, and at the same time a man who has nothing to live for considers the many ways to die. Then a burglar gets more than he bargained for while a reporter also finds his luck running out…. There are eighteen stories here (five of them brand new), including the Sherlock Holmes adventure ‘The Greatest Mystery’, sequels to Poe’s The Masque of the Red Death and Dickens’ A Christmas Carol, plus the moving title story and a special bonus tale in the form of Paul’s first accepted short story, never reprinted since its first appearance in 1998: ‘The Cave of Lost Souls.’

‘An excellent collection, full of clever writing, sometimes amusing and sometimes insidious, but filled  with a sureness that some writers never achieve.’

(From the Introduction by bestselling author of the The Shadow Saga, Christopher Golden)

‘Paul Kane’s writing has a style and elegance. He’s a first rate storyteller.’

(Clive Barker – Bestselling author of The Hellbound Heart, Abarat and Mr B. Gone)

‘I’m impressed by the range of Paul Kane’s imagination. It seems there is no risk, no high-stakes gamble, he fears to take… Kane’s foot never gets even close to the brake pedal.’

(Peter Straub – Bestselling author of Ghost Story, Mr X and A Dark Matter)

Unsigned: £19.99. Signed: £39.99. Cover Art by Dominic Harman

Published by the multiple award-winning PS Publishing

Paul Kane is an award-winning writer and editor based in Derbyshire, UK. His short story collections are Alone (In the Dark)Touching the FlameFunnyBonesPeripheral Visions, Shadow Writer and The Adventures of Dalton Quayle. His novellas include Signs of LifeThe Lazarus Condition and RED. He is the author of the novels Of Darkness and LightThe Gemini Factorand the bestselling Arrowhead trilogy (ArrowheadBroken Arrowand Arrowland), a post-apocalyptic reworking of the Robin Hood myth. He is co-editor of the anthology Hellbound Hearts – stories based around the Clive Barker mythology that spawnedHellraiser – and his non-fiction books are The Hellraiser Films and Their Legacy and Voices in the Dark. His work has been optioned for film and television, and his zombie story ‘Dead Time’ was turned into an episode of the Lionsgate/NBC TV series Fear Itself, adapted by Steve Niles (30 Days of Night) and directed by Darren Lynn Bousman (SAW II-IV). He also scripted the The Opportunity, which premiered at the Cannes Film Festival, andThe Weeping Woman – filmed by award-winning director Mark Steensland and starring Tony-nominated actor Stephen Geoffreys (Fright Night). You can find out more at his website which has featured Guest Writers such as Stephen King, James Herbert and Neil Gaiman.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: