>The 100th Post, An Interview with Author Shaun Jeffrey

>

Hi Shaun, how are you doing?

Hi Jim, come in and sit down. I’m doing well thanks, well apart from the tiredness, the aches, the pains, the headaches. Aside from that, I’m good.

How has the past year been for you?

A whirlwind. It’s been surreal to say the least. But more on that in a minute. Would you like a tipple? Tea, coffee, whisky? Good man.

Your novel The Kult, a very good read by the way, is currently being turned into a movie. Can you tell us how this came about?

Thanks, Jim. Cheque is in the post. Careful, that’s a triple. Right, where were we. The movie. Well, the publisher actively sought to sell the film rights, and eventually someone with vision took it on. Gharial Productions started negotiations with Leucrota Press a year ago this month, and they started filming 11 months later on September 27th. As I said, it’s been a whirlwind.

How does it make you feel, handing over one of your novels to someone else’s vision?

A top up? A man after my own heart. What’s that smell you say? Well, don’t you worry about that. You get used to it after a while. Just the drains blocking up. Well I knew there would be changes with the script. For one thing, the novel is based in the UK while the film is being made in the US (it surprises me that Americans all think our police are armed, and they can’t comprehend how they maintain law and order without guns). At its heart, the story is the same, but really I can’t wait to see how it comes out in someone else’s vision. And fingers crossed it’ll hit the big screen.

Have you had any say on the script of the movie?

Not really. I read it and made suggestions, but that’s as far as my involvement went.

You have just returned from an on set visit, how was that? Can you spill any little secrets?

What was that, you’re slurring your words a little? The trip to the US, it was an awesome experience. I wrote about it on my own blog for anyone interested (don’t forget to come back here after):http://shaunjeffrey.blogspot.com/2010/10/american-dream.html

The whole experience of seeing my book come to life was both surreal and amazing. I managed to meet all the principal actors, and they all seemed really cool and I could see why they were chosen for their roles. After I got to know them, it made me a little sad to know that I’d killed some of them off! A secret? The bodies are all real. Lol

If you were going to commit the perfect murder, how would you go about it?

If I told you that, I’d have to kill you.

Is there going to be a sequel to The Kult?

There’s not a sequel, but I have further plans for the protagonist, Prosper Snow. Whether anything ever comes of it remains to be seen, but I’m keeping my fingers crossed. If the film’s a success, who knows …

Do you find the writing process to be easier with each new project? Or do you find yourself obsessing over more of the finer details?

Another drink. Now we’re warming up. The writing process, well I find it gets harder as I have to keep trying to improve upon my craft. If I get a bad review for something I’ve written, then I take note and try not to make the same mistake again, which means I keep going over and over my work. Of course you’re never going to please everyone, but as long as the ratio of yays to nays remains higher, then I’ll be happy. And of course, it’s getting harder to keep hiding the bodies of the negative reviewers, so I’ve got to make sure I write the best prose that I can, for their sake and mine. Easy Jim, I’m only joking. Now stop going on about the smell and have another drink.

Are the names of the characters in your novels important?

They certainly are. I always try to pick names that are a little unusual in the hope that it makes them more memorable and unique. If I called them Simon, John etc, then they’re soon forgotten I feel. Call someone Steele or Blood and (I hope) people remember them more.

What do you do to unwind and relax?

I drink alcohol and have sex. Although doing it in that order can result in only doing one of the two. And before you mention it, no, we’re only doing one of the two now.

Are there any new authors that have sparked your interest and why?

You mean there are other authors out there! Bastards. Well there are a few authors I’ve been associated with that deserve wider recognition, but they’re not all new, such as Garry Charles, JG Faherty, Daniel I Russell and Willie Meikle. Then there are the authors who arrived on the scene and who are making leaps and bounds, such as Gary McMahon and Wayne Simmons. They spark my interest because they’re doing well, so they’re doing something right. I can learn from them or kill them.

Can you tell us some up coming projects?

You’re looking a little peaky. Hold on, let me spray some air freshener and open the window. Now where were we? Ah yes, up coming projects. Well I’ve signed a contract with Dark Regions, who are re-releasing my short story collection, Voyeurs of Death in a limited edition, signed deluxe hardback. I’ve also signed a contract for a novel with them too that I’m writing at the moment. Then I have another novel coming out next year, entitled Fangtooth, and I’m working on another Prosper Snow novel. Enough to keep me busy anyway.

When you wish to end your career, stop writing, and look back on your life, what thoughts would you like to have?

That I left a legacy of work that people will enjoy. And that I got away with the perfect murder. Jim, don’t pull your face like that. God damnit, it’s the drains. I told you that. Listen to me. Jim, come back Jim. Oh well. Now where was I before Jim arrived? Ah yes, finding out where that last reviewer lives. And here it is. The internet’s a wonderful tool. Now I’ve got a little trip to take.

shaunjeffrey.blogspot.com
Welcome to the online journal of horror writer, Shaun Jeffrey. Shaun is the author of numerous short stories and the novels Deadfall, The Kult and Evilution
3 thoughts on “>The 100th Post, An Interview with Author Shaun Jeffrey

Leave a Reply

